A Good Day

ACCOMPLISHMENT! By noon, on a SATURDAY, not only was I up and dressed and out, so was the Kidling. The shopping is done, and put away. Email is checked, Twitter is checked for the am, Facebook is checked for the am. Groceries are put away, supper is planned, and the Kidling and I had lunch. Normally, I would NOT shop on a week end in my own store…especially with the craziness that is remodeling. But when I said something about doing it after work yesterday, Mom asked me to wait so we could go together. She drove. On the plush side, there were things even I hadn’t seen yet. British foods! We can get Branson Pickle at Price Chopper! No Ribena, which disappointed the Kidling, but still… she was excited to see what we do have.

Speaking of shopping… I really need a new way to arrange my coupons. Right now, I have them in general groupings. That tends to make it confusing, inconvenient, and a pain in the ass when I’m actually shopping and looking for cereal coupons in the dry goods group that is mixed up with coupons for spaghetti, rice, snack bars and spices. Maybe some sort of binder with pockets for each different type of food… I have seen others use something similar. Put me in frozen foods the way I work now and I tend to drop little slips of paper all over the floor trying to sort my veggie coupons from Farm Fresh, from Eggos. I will not give up my coupons…. I saved something like $30 on today’s order.

I’d like to get through Thanksgiving before dealing with Yule/CHristmas, but I work in retail, so that isn’t to be. Besides, I started my holiday shopping back in June. It’s the only way I can afford to these days. This year, I need to consider five more stockings: brother’s lady, her daughter, their dog, cat and horse. YES, STOCKINGS FOR THE CRITTERS! They may have four feet and fur (or horsehide) but they are still family. Since family reads this blog, I will not, however, be mentioning anything specific gift-wise.

Okay, the morning is over. The Kidling and I are listening to yesterday’s COMBAT RADIO. Once we’re caught up on that, I have some cleaning to do, and more coupons to clip. It is definitely a good day.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Raising a Girl, Saving Money, Seasons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Good Day

  1. mewhoami says:

    That’s great! A very productive day you’ve had. I should probably use coupons more often, but when I try to I usually forget them at home. I’ve found that the digital coupons on my grocery store card are very helpful. Best of all, I don’t have to worry about forgetting them.

Let me know what YOU think

