Prom Night

Where has the time gone? My baby girl, my Geek Princess …. the one who was reading and UNDERSTANDING her father’s astronomy magazines at age 7…. is at her Senior Prom tonight, having fun with her friends.

It wasn’t the easiest day to get through. When we went to pick up her wristlet, floral was mobbed. But Adam did a wonderful job on it. Then we went to the hair salon.

I was NOT happy. I don’t think it should have taken as long as it did, and the stylist (NOT Erin, who cuts Meriah’s hair) seemed to have an attitude, and didn’t seem as confident about what she was doing as Erin said she was. That whole deal messed up our timing, and we had to rush to get home, get her dressed, and get up to the Elks Lodge to meet Brianna and get pictures… Nick managed to get three or four, and cut Bri out of one, and cut Bri’s head and Alexis’s head in half on another one. Meriah and Bri both have their phones and are taking pictures there. I came home with a migraine. I think I was far more upset than Meriah about the things that went wrong.

Most of the dresses looked wonderful. A few two pieced deals… Jess looked awesome in hers. One of the girls… I can’t believe her parents let her get it. The style is, in my opinion, far too old, too racy, for a girl under 21. It looked like a pearl-encrusted bra and a long skirt. I also blame the fashion industry for putting this crap out there, TARGETING teens… and then not getting why people are fed up with the sexing-up of our children.

Getting Meriah ready for prom brought back memories of my own. I went with a friend, David, who was a year behind me in school. At the time, the guy in my life was in the US Navy, and his sister was getting married the same night… in a different state. David and I rode with Rich and Karen, and Tom and Patty… and we met JD and Donna there. We had a good night… went bowling afterwards (bowling….in long skirts. And Donna had a HOOP SKIRT on!) Then stopped to get food before going home. It took me an hour to brush out my hair, because there was so much hairspray in it…. I looked like I’d just stepped out of my mother’s yearbook.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life, memories, Raising a Girl, Traditions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

