Good Bye 2016

The last day of another year. As we head int 2017, I try to gather my thoughts into some semblance of organized coherence. It’s not easy. The ups and downs of 2016 have on occasion left me dizzy. The hopes and fears for the year ahead at times threatens my stomach with ulcers.

We have lost a list of talented, much loved and/or respected people this year now behind us. Some loses affected me personally more than others. I will not apologize for crying or silently or not so silently mourning their passing. I will not apologize for shedding tears for those whose names I never knew, either. Some of them lived long and productive lives, and for them, Death came gently like an old friend. Too many died too soon, in my opinion, while they still had so much to offer and share.

We had a Presidential Election that reminded me more of a fight breaking out in a nursery school playground. Actually, children tend to behave better than the supposed-adults who ran for office, or campaigned for those who ran for office. And I really didn’t see much choice between the two major candidates we finally got down to.

Babies have been born; couples married; loved ones lain to rest. That is all part of the Circle of Life. We cannot change it.

We can only change ourselves, and influence the world around us. Hopefully, we choose to do so in positive manners, to benefit the complex  living organism that is this Planet Earth.

2016 is done and over. I can only cherish the brighter memories, learn from the mistakes, mourn the dead, and continue forward.

But never before have I been so leery of what the future had in store for me, my family, my friends, my country and my planet. Never before have I been so concerned about the ability of the Warriors sworn to protect this wonderful living spaceship to discharge their chosen duty with honor and success.

In a fever for something new and outside the great political wheel, a man with no real experience in building LASTING positivity has been elected as President. He sounds like a raving lunatic when others disagree with him or he doesn’t get his own way in things. His choices for his cabinet… people who, for the most part, seem to me to hold positions that are in direct conflict with their proposed seats.

I no longer trust the impartiality of major media outlets. I fear what kind of world my daughter will be stepping into as an adult.

 

On a personal level, I have stagnated. I am no better or worse than I was last year, or the year before, or the year before that. This house needs work we cannot afford, and can’t really do ourselves. I have a job that barely pays the bills, and it’s future is uncertain. All job futures are uncertain, in my opinion. And that frightens me for myself, my friends, my child, and future generations.

We are poisoning our world in so many ways, on so many levels, I really wonder how much longer we as a species can survive.

Good bye, 2016. Not sure you’ll be all that missed.

Come ahead, 2017. Let’s see what you’ve got.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, history, politics, Seasons, Traditions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

