Musical Influences

So, the other day at work, something happened that got me thinking about the music that has influenced my life, and the people in my life who have influenced my taste in music.

I had said something about watching “South Pacific” at this time of year, and three of my fellow cashiers had no idea what I was talking about! Way to make me feel my age, Les Enfants! They were also not acquainted with “Cats”?! Or “My Fair Lady”, “Guys and Dolls”, or “Damn Yankees”> ONE had heard of “West Side Story”, but had no idea what it was about. I was afraid to mention “Godspell”, “Jesus Christ Superstar”, “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers”, “Hair”. or “Oklahoma”. I was also afraid to mention George M. Cohan.

Is it really just my age? The Kidling knows about most of these musicals, and some of the songs from them, but because I have exposed her to them. Some of them are older than I am… but I was exposed to them by my mother, my Aunt Johanna, my maternal grandmother, and music teachers Annette Curtis and Tam Kistler.

That’s when I started wondering about where and how I formed my musical tastes. My parents: my grandparents; definitely Aunt Jo… my Uncle Gerard, to a lesser extent; my cousin Susan; my music teachers in school. Sometimes the movies and television I watched. My peers, not so much, which may be surprising.

The soundtrack of my life includes memories of my grandmother playing Irish songs, show tunes and religious music on the electric organ. My dad singing “Lady of Spain” on car trips. Aunt Johanna singing songs popularized by Nelson Eddy and Jeanette McDonald. The Archies. Bay City Rollers. KISS. John Denver. Oak Ridge Boys. Johnny Cash. Loretta Lynne. Barry Manilow…. the list goes on and on. Singing with the radio… or the record player in Susan’s bedroom or my own….Singing show tunes to the Kidling instead of regular lullabies. Ethnic stuff, country, rock-n-roll, pop… just about everything, really.

What’s on the soundtrack of YOUR life?

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

