Achey Breaky Body

Oh lords of light, how I ache! Some of it, I get. Some of it, I don’t know what the hell I did. My right side, from my hip to my knee, doesn’t want to play nice with the rest of me. Neither does the left side of my neck. At least I understand the left foot’s problem……

Today was one of “THOSE DAYS”. Got to work for 9am… and didn’t get much chance to breathe the rest of the shift. Add to that, within the first hour or so, I dropped a glass jar of iced tea, which proceeded to explode and shower me, the register, and the floor with sticky iced tea and glass. I was pretty sure some of that glass got into my foot, since the shoes were almost trash already. Came home, soaked the foot… yup, I got glass out of it. So there I am, wet and peppered, with C trying to clean the mess, and still ringing the order so I could get my customer done and on their way. They were really cool about that whole debacle.  D was bagging for me most of the day, bless her sweet little soul. She also cheerfully did a carry-out….and her shoulder got nailed when the hatchback on the car started closing while she was loading bags into it! She says she’s alright. I hope she is. Also had various types of produce try to escape at various times during my shift… two pounds of hard pears HURT when they land on your toes!

As busy as it got…and “Five Star Service” was broadcast a few times….the general tone was upbeat and laid back. No one I heard bitched because of the lines, or lack of more registers. My customers were patient and laughed and joked with me and each other. Which made it nice. I was still REALLY glad to see T when he came in at 2 pm to take over my register….. of course, then it was MY turn to brace the craziness and do my shopping. Spend more than I could strictly afford…. and I got NO meat. Nick picked up a pound of stew beef, some chicken breasts, and pork chops. And the boar sausage for Saturday breakfast. I didn’t buy any junk… but I spent $140.00 to feed three people for two weeks…as long as we don’t want meat.

So, now I am home in my warm Coca~Cola / Betty Boop pjs and fuzzy slipper-socks, and aching muscles. Anyone know a good masseur who works cheap in this area?

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in In The Work Force, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

