Waterford Tugboat Roundup

And another family tradition in the can for this year! The annual Tugboat Roundup at Lock 2 in Waterford, NY, is always a good day. I swear there were more boats this year than last. We missed the Farmer’s Market part of the deal… that was up by the lock itself, and with Mom still using the walker, and Meriah not wearing appropriate foot gear… we stuck to the lower park.  Nick got some really good photos… and some I wish he hadn’t…I do NOT take great candid shots. barsge-grand-erie img_2378 spirit-of-albany the-grand-erie tugboat-roundup-signTakes a lot of people and a lot of work to put things like this together, and I applaud them all! This area has a rich heritage and interesting history, and it’s wonderful when such is preserved and shared with younger generations.

One of the first things Meriah and I spotted when walking in from the car had nothing to do with tugboats. Meet Norm III. Nice truck, yea?meriah-and-the-tires-nearly-as-tall norm-iiiThe tires are nearly as tall as Meriah, me, or Mom!

And Meriah noticed something else…. local company DEATH WISH COFFEE seemed well-represented…. death-wish-flag death-wish-coffee-odinforce-blend-vallhalla-javaValhalla Java… I know a few of my friends will get a good chuckle out of that!

It turned out to be a dry day… they weren’t sure we wouldn’t get a thunderstorm or two, but we didn’t. Of course, I was dripping sweat, walking around. Hopefully, I was sweating off some pounds in the process! Meriah is now napping, Mom just woke up, and I feel like I may nod off next. At least no sunburns!

And on to the next traditional outing… the Guptil’s Flea Market! That’s September 17th.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Culture, Current Events, Family, history, Life, Seasons, Traditions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

