Sometimes, Being a Cashier Is NOT Fun

Most of my regular customers are great people. They are our neighbors, the families of friends and co-workers, co-workers themselves. We chat, we debate, we laugh, and sometimes we cry together.

Today….today, I had a pair of the RUDEST people. They would probably disagree. They would say they were polite. Nope, they weren’t. They had a coupon for $8.00 off a $100.00 order. They wanted to use it. The problem? They had a $60 order up. The woman say “It’s ok, I go get more.”

Now, on a quiet day, if I had no other customers in line, that probably wouldn’t have bothered me. If she only had to make up $5.00, it wouldn’t have bothered me. But she was FORTY DOLLARS short of that $100, I had a customer behind her who had already unloaded her items onto the belt, and another with a full cart behind her.
“I’m sorry, ma’am, but I am not allowed to hold up the line while you continue shopping for another forty dollars worth of groceries.”
“Oh, they wait! I be back!” And off she dances. (And yes, if you are reading the comments as if this person’s first language is something OTHER than English, you’d be right.) So I call the supervisor and tell him what is going on. He tells the husband to call his wife back, he’ll honor the coupon, but I really can’t make everyone else wait. Husband acts like he doesn’t understand what is being said.
I need to use the ladies room, so the supervisor is standing there trying to talk to this man.
I get back, wife has deposited some fruit on the belt and jetted off AGAIN. By this time, one of the other supervisors has taken my other two customers to an empty line, and is cashing them out himself.

I get the fact that saving money is a big deal. That does NOT give you the right to make other people wait on you the way this couple did this afternoon. They wasted the time of two other customers, my time, and the time of two of my supervisors. Their order, once all was said and done, would have taken me maybe ten minutes to ring up and cash out. Instead, they had my line tied up for close to HALF AN HOUR. And we workers couldn’t tell them what was really going through our minds.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Good Manners, In The Work Force, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

