A Day Out With the Hubs

Hubby is a Ham Radio enthusiast. There are clubs for people like him. And sometimes, these clubs host family outings. Today was the picnic for the club Hubby now belongs to. I wasn’t going to make him go alone, despite not really being into it myself. Nick tried convincing the Kidling to go right up until we left this morning, but I wasn’t backing him up on it. She shares his love of astronomy, not HAM radio. At 17, there are other things she could do with her time that hold more interest to her. Today, she mainly wanted to stay with her grandmother, just in case she was needed. Let’s face it, right now, Mom would have trouble getting Freckles out into the yard on her own.

The picnic was held in a nice area; high rent district, if ya know what I mean. Firehouse grounds, which meant well-kept facilities. Ringed with trees…big, beautiful trees; mostly oak. Since I don’t like to smoke around people who are eating, I went and sat under one of those awesome trees to have a cigarette, and watch pictures in the clouds. Hubs got to talk to a few of his like-minded friends, so he had a good time. The food was good… we stopped at PC on the way out and got four pounds of pasta salad…. it didn’t last long! I don’t think there were many left-overs at all!

Now we are home, and I am soaking my swollen ankles and feet. And now it is raining, which I can hope breaks the humidity!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Day Out With the Hubs

  1. Sounds like a date to me!

  2. Andrew VK1AD says:

    There are thousands of like minded ‘Hubs’ radio amateurs all over the world. Nice story 🙂
    Andrew VK1AD, Australian radio amateur

Let me know what YOU think

