Common Core? Common CRAP!

I don’t know how to help my daughter. She made Honor Roll last semester…even while failing one important class….Geometry. She’s got an 86 in American Lit, 97 in French 3, 85 in Gen Chem, 93 in Studio Draw and Paint, and 99….99 … in American History and Government!  Right now, she has a 38 average in Geometry. Her teacher says she needs to pay more attention to her homework. I can’t help her, because I don’t understand Common Core… it makes NO sense to me. I had to look up “congruent triangles”.  And it’s been 30 years since I’ve dealt with a lot of geometry to start with. All I know right now is that she has a State Regents test coming up that she will most likely fail, she is getting upset to the point of throwing up… I think she’s getting ulcers. She is apparently having trouble with this method of learning, or this teacher’s way of presenting the work.

My daughter wants to go to college. She’s not going to get into a college if she can’t handle the maths. She’s not going to be able to pursue any of the ideas she has for her future career without maths.

I don’t know what to do.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Raising a Girl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Common Core? Common CRAP!

  1. oldwolfmcmlxiii says:

    So talk to the School …..

Let me know what YOU think

