R.I.P. David Bowie

Sometimes, a media figure passes, and I don’t have much to say, except that I feel for their family.

Sometimes, I have more.

Yesterday, we lost a very talented man. He was more than a musician and actor. He had concepts that seemed to combined and transcend both of those categories.

David Robert Jones, better known to millions as David Bowie, died of cancer; not, as so many of his compatriots, from drugs or alcohol. With his passing, an era has ended, at least for those of my generation, and my heart-sister Paisley’s. Maybe not so much for my godsons’ or daughter’s age groups, but many of them also knew who he was, and enjoyed his work. And my heart aches a bit for the loss: for another loss of part of my life; for his wife Iman; for their children.

From the 1960s right up to today, he provided music that challenged and inspired, and changed musical history.  From Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars, to the Man Who Fell to Earth; Captain Tom to Jareth the Goblin King; to Blackstar, his final gift and legacy.

In response to my attempted farewell to a consummate artist on FaceBook, my friend Charlene posted a quote from ‘Changes‘ (1971 HunkyDory) ” Turn and face the strange changes….Time may change me, but I can’t change time…” Maybe not, Mr. Bowie, but you certainly influenced more than one generation of musicians and music lovers, and that’s no bad accomplishment.

https://youtu.be/pl3vxEudif8

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Culture, Current Events, death, Film and Media, Icons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

