The Never-Ending Battle

Housework. I really hate it. You’d think by now, I ‘d know better than to let things pile up on me, yet every time I turn around, it seems I have done just that!

We like decorating for the holidays, which means making sure we have places TO decorate. Scaling back big time this year, because I just don’t have the energy, and Mom’s just… had enough, I guess. But the candles, Frosty and Santa are on the front porch, my winter curtain is up, and both Mom and I switched the daily dishes for the winter sets. And the Kidling and I started tackling her room today. 90% of it is clothing…. and better than half of THAT is stuff she can’t wear anymore. We have several bags to go to the donation box. AND a large bag of trash. Still need to clear up her books, jewelry, and doll stuff that she no longer plays with (but can’t bear to part with…. or maybe, *I* am just not ready to see go yet.) I will be doing mega loads of laundry tomorrow, and dusting, and sweeping and washing the floors tomorrow. I need to sort through some of the stuff in my room, as well, or Nick won’t have any room for his gear when he gets home.

We could use a bigger house, one with three bedrooms, two full baths and a half-bath, kitchen, pantry, dining room, family room, library, and three offices…and a finished basement for collections… and yeah, that would mean MORE cleaning… but I think, if I could just get organized and STAY organized, it wouldn’t seem so bad.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Raising a Girl. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Never-Ending Battle

  1. LAMarcom says:

    “Housework”? Huh?
    I just put my sig-other on a plane rumored bound for England.
    I am off work until NEXT YEAR (I love working for Nike–not as much as I loved working for DOD in dangerous desolate places, but hey! It’s a jay-oh-bee until I can regroup and get that whole secret clearance thing sorted…but, I digress.
    Annie,
    I have been rereading some of my old posts, with a bent for trying to re fabricate my blog–not to make it more user-friendly mind you–but to make it more PC (JUST KIDDING!)

    Seriously… just found myself with two weeks to kill and gonna try real hard not to kill me with too much booze (but you know, it is a struggle: the battle with the booze (There is a Tom Waits quote in there somewhere).

    Back to your post:
    Yep. Housekeeping!
    Wow!
    I had a landlady once (well, I have had many).
    This one, she (this one ‘she’–hahahah! “My wife, She!”) Sorry, olde English teacher flashback.
    This one she, said to me once, “If there is not a dead horse in the living room, the house is clean.”
    Cannot say I did disagree with that line of thinking, but I do understand.

    Back in the day when I used to run ‘man-camps’ in Iraq and Afghanistan, I always wanted ‘myhouse’–my camps–to be the most pristine, best looking camp of all–and always they were–never mind we were in a war ZONE and nobody gave two shits how things looked-housekeeping-wise…
    But, there I go, rambling.
    My point is thus:
    I know you have no time, but if you find some, please give me some “Annie Critique” on my blog. I really want to make it BETTER.
    (Not really-but that sounds good)
    Just kidding.
    I am sincere.
    Peace to you and good luck with your house-cleaning.
    Your Fren,
    Lancer

Let me know what YOU think

