Thanksgiving

Another holiday meal over, dishes washed, stomach still feeling the strain.

What am I thankful for? My family, even though we don’t always agree on things or get along. The fact I have a roof over my head, a job, and food on the table. Our US Armed Forces, and their UK, NZ, Australia, and Canadian counterparts. The opportunities that exist, if I make use of them or not.  The fact I live in a country where I am free to worship (or not) as my conscience dictates. My family’s health.

Thanksgiving is a day of traditions: big, family meals; watching the Macy’s Day Parade; for some, football; in my family, the guys used to go hunting in the morning. Tomorrow morning, my cousin and her eldest daughter will be up at an ungodly time of the morning to hit the Black Friday sales. (I am NOT a fan of the current trend of starting these sales on Thanksgiving itself!)

I think my daughter and I may be starting a new tradition: we are currently watching Fox’s All Star Dog Rescue Celebration. ( http://www.fox.com/the-all-star-dog-rescue-celebration ) Warning: if you are going to watch this, or visit the website, have tissues handy. This show is about dogs, but there are cats in need of furever homes, too; and even other animals: horses, donkeys, birds, snakes, rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, and various lizards. Here at home, we try to support Steve Caporizzo’s PET CONNECTION. (  http://news10.com/category/community/pet-connection-with-steve-caporizzo/ )I have friends who foster, friends who transport, and friends who adopt. Someday, I hope Meriah and I can do more.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Thanksgiving, Traditions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

