Fall Traditions

I think I have attended 30 of the last 35 years of the Schaghticoke Fair. Obviously, we didn’t go when we were living in the UK. And the first year Meriah was around, Mom had a bad premonition, so we played it safe and stayed home. Mostly, I wouldn’t miss it for the world. I LOVE county fairs, and Schaghticoke is my favorite, for whatever reason. This year, it seemed… emptier than years past. There were vendors and shows that were missing, and no live birds at all this year. That was because of Avian Flu. So the 4H kids came up with a new “Chicken Display”. Cute and creative, and a whole hell of a lot quieter! At Schagticoke Fair. No live birdsRed Hat ChickenMeriah did get her yearly addition to the horse collectionMagic This year's horsie addition; we had our traditional eats: Fried bread dough, steamed clams, and maple syrup candy. This year, there was something new to try:101_2466 Maple sugar Cotton Candy. Good thing the fair is only one a year; the stuff is addictive. I don’t need high sugar in addition to high blood pressure!

School starts Tuesday, and it’s hard to believe my “Little Girl” is going into her JUNIOR year. I’ll live, I’m sure. But BOY HOWDY, I am starting to feel old! And next weekend is the Tug Boat Round Up… so I’ll probably be posting about that next Saturday night or sometime Sunday.

Traditions are good things. They help us build memories.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Raising a Girl, Seasons, Traditions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

