Be a GOOD Customer

Most of the time, my job as a cashier in a supermarket isn’t so bad. You get used to some of your customers, and even become friends.

Today, I had to bite my lip so I didn’t say something that would have probably gotten me fired. I was assigned to the EZscans… you know, those stations where the customer basically checks themselves out? Four stations, one cashier. Not usually a problem.

Well, this couple comes up, and she didn’t look happy. Fine, people can have bad days. Husband scans first item, and they both start complaining. He’s trying to explain the problem to me, and she is just starting off on a rant. It is fixable, I just need my supervisor to do it, and I explain that to them. He’s willing to give me the chance, she is still bad-mouthing the store. I ignore it. I have other customers I also need to help with things, and I need to wait for my supervisor to fix that particular problem. Thing is, the way the screens are on the EZs, the customer can’t really see it’s been fixed until the order is completed, and I can show it to them on their receipt. She doesn’t like it, but there is nothing I can do about it. I am also trying to put in a savings card for someone, I need to ID someone for alcohol, and someone else needs a produce code. Couple finishes scanning their items, and have two coupons. She has not stopped bitching. I am a little flustered by this point, but I take the coupons and run them through… or so I thought.

The cashier has one touch screen system, and if we catch it wrong, we bring up the wrong bagging station. That’s what I did, and I didn’t notice it at first, because I was also imputing produce codes for someone else. Couple pays, I show them where the disputed price was corrected. He thanks me; she’s still bitching; they leave.

Then I realise the coupons came off the wrong bagging station. I pulled them and set them aside because I knew they’d be back. Yup, not five minutes… she checked the receipt before getting in the car. I accept the fact *I* made a mistake, and call the supervisor over to refund her the money for the coupons. Not a problem for us. A slight inconvenience for her. And the bitching continues. Supervisor calmly deals. Me, I’m standing there thinking “Well, if you weren’t such an unpleasant bitch, and would stop harping at me while I was trying to fix the first problem and wait on everyone else, then maybe I wouldn’t have been too flustered to notice the wrong station came up, and this wouldn’t have happened to begin with!”

Yeah, that wouldn’t have been the most politic thing to say.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Good Manners, In The Work Force, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

