Summer Rant

There are times I think I should have made a lot of different choices in my earlier life. There are times I really wish my father had never spoiled me as much as he did.

The hedges need to be trimmed. Easy job, yeah? You’d think so. The lead keeps pulling apart… and with the rain and sun we’ve had this past month, the damn hedges are taller than I am. I am no longer as used to physical labor as I was when I was in college, or only out of it less than five years.My arms are shaking already, and I only did about 3 feet. Growing up, I didn’t mow the lawn, or trim hedges….. Dad and Nonno did. I was allowed to help weed the garden, and harvest veggies.

Summer used to be fun. We used to go places as a family, or I’d go with friends. These days, I don’t have the money to. I am getting maybe 11 hours a week at work, because the high schoolers and college kids are free, and they don’t make as much as I do. YOU trying paying bills on 11 hours/week, at $10/hour, then take as much as a day trip to the State Museum.

Yeah, I am in a pissy mood…. and I still need to go finish the damn hedges.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, In The Work Force, Life, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Rant

  1. LAMarcom says:

    Dear Mad Annie,
    I have missed you.
    Yes, Summer used to be fun. We just had a huge storm here in Memphis, Amerika…. no electricity for almost a day and a half. How decadent have we become? I mean, 150 yrs ago…. no electricity meant nothing to anyone. Now, the world ends. God save us from ourselves. And you know I don’t even believe in God. So, there you go.

    • I think I could relearn to live without electric if I had to, BUT..where would I be without my online friends? It was rough enough sharing a computer with the Kidling until she figured out what was wrong with mine, and fixed it!

Let me know what YOU think

