The End of June

Yesterday, I got to tease my brother a bit. Not only have he and M. now got chickens, yesterday was R.’s graduation. My brother, who never planned on having to deal with a high school graduation after his own, not only did… he had to deal with one before I do!

Of course, we went out. Of course, being me and Mom, we took a wrong turn first. And I have come to the conclusion I don’t feel comfortable letting Mom drive long distances, especially in poor weather. When we took the wrong turn, I made her pull into PC, so I could get a cola….the migraine hit that fast.

Okay, once we got off of 88, Meriah and I both knew where we were, and how to get from there to Al and Mary’s. Nice to see them, the pets, and meet the chickens. Since we’ve been there last, things have changed. They built an attached, 3 car garage, moved one shed, removed one, started putting in a new fence line, pulled down the pool, and are building a coop and run for the chicks.

Meriah and Ros 101_2318 Meriah and one chick Meriah making a new friend

Would have been nice if it didn’t rain on and off all day. Randi, her boyfriend Brian, their friend Matt, and her cousin Gavin did an awesome job on the back, and it was a shame most people didn’t get to see it.

I drove home. Correction, I was supposed to drive home. We got as far as exit 25 on the Thruway. The Pathfinder lost all power. I managed to make it to the side of the road. I have no idea what’s wrong with it. Al think’s it is the fuel pump. Thank the powers that be for cell phones. We called Al. He and Mary came up to save our stranded butts. They also called a tow truck. It wasn’t a good period of time. Mom and I had been sniping at each other since we’d left Al and Mary’s to begin with, and the problem with the Pathfinder made it worse.

Of course, since we currently have NO car between us, I had to cancel the tickets we had to go see Jurassic World today.  Which didn’t go over well with the Kidling. I understand it, and I understand how she reacted to it, since…. been there, done that.  I  just wish people would let ME deal with her when she gets like that, since I DO know where she’s coming from, and how much she can be pushed at that point without a complete melt-down occurring.

Right now, don’t know how I am going to get my paycheck on Thursday. Looks like I may have to rely on CDTA for Friday….and my own two feet. And it means I can’t pick up extra hours this week, because I can’t get there!

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Raising a Girl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

