Scam Calls and the Do Not Call registry

The Do Not Call registry works, to a point. LEGITIMATE call centers adhere to it’s rules.

Scam artists, or want to be scam artists, are another matter entirely.

Usually, if I don’t recognise a number, or no name comes up on my caller ID, I just don’t answer it. But a lot of call phones don’t show a name, and since my co-workers can get my home number if they need to call me in to cover for them, I answer those.

Today, a man with an alto voice, heavily Indian accented, asked for me by name (He couldn’t pronounce “Marie”, which was my first clue), claiming to be from the US federal Grant department. Um, yeah. Sure you are. Good night! I hung up. I also filed a complaint against the number. Not sure how much good that is, since, according to other complaints, attempting to call back meets with a “number not in service” message.

I don’t know where he got my name and number; it’s supposed to be unlisted. The fact his call center is routing their calls through a Pennsylvanian cell provider is aggravating. Might have to contact that carrier to complain. Meanwhile, think I will invest in an air horn. The can’t call anyone if they can’t hear, right?

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Life, life on the internet, Scams and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

