GI Joe Review: SPY TROOPS

The best thing about getting my tax refund is being able to treat myself and the Kidling. This year, that meant some GI Joe videos.

So, for the first time, I got to see SPY TROOPS. Like the music, for sure! I also rather enjoyed the style of animation. It really did work, especially with the battle scenes.  I’m not sure the voice talents used here were used elsewhere in the verse, but for the most part, they weren’t bad. The story line worked well… but then again, it was written by Larry Hama.

What didn’t work for me was the characterization of Beach Head. The attitude was less Sergeant Major Don’t-Mess-With-Me, and almost more…. Footloose. I think part of it was the voice, part was the animation, and part were some of the spoken lines.  If ANY of the Joes kept missing a target, Beach Head would be more likely screaming at them to get it together, not saying Shipwreck was having a bad day.  Scarlett… for the most part, right on… just when Snake Eyes rescues her from the energy cell in Cobra Mountain, she rambles and doesn’t really come across like the Scarlet we all know, love, and don’t want pissed at us.

I have some other stuff still coming in. I think one of them is VALOR VS VENOM, so that will make for another review.

 

YO JOE!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Film and Media, GI Joe, Icons, Television and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

