Sometimes, Being Mom Sucks

It is not a good night. I forbade my daughter from getting on the computer. Why? Because I am tired of getting an attitude, or hearing her whine, when I ask her to do something she doesn’t want to do.

I spend hours at a time on my feet as a cashier. The counters are for average sized people. I am short, so I have to sometimes reach further and turn more to do my job. It can leave me in pain.  Tonight, my mother asked me to walk over to a neighbors. I asked the Kidling to go instead. Instant whining cue about how hard her day was, how much she just wanted to relax…. I didn’t start yelling, I just told her there would be no computer time. Now she is diva-ing it up in her room, moaning how I don’t understand.

What I am starting to get fed up ‘understanding’ is she wants to do what she wants to do, and nothing else. Her room is a disaster area. Her desk is a disaster area. She sleeps on the couch because she doesn’t like her bed (which she picked out) can’t get into her bed for the pile of clothes and stuffed animals on it.

I love my daughter. I am not blind to her faults. I get lazy sometimes, too. My room needs an over-haul, too. But I can’t do much until Hubs is home, because a lot of the clutter in my room is his stuff. She doesn’t have that excuse. What she has is a poor example…. when she was little, and I tried to get her to put away her toys, her father would just grab everything and pile it in her room somewhere, so I wouldn’t get mad. Now she’s older, he wonders why she won’t help out more with the housework.

I think I am going to hire a skip and just start throwing stuff out. Hers, his, and mine.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Raising a Girl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

