FanFic and Holidays

The two subjects most on my mind lately.

I have been going a little over-board on GI Joe stories where Shipwreck gets to keep the girl. And Bazooka gets to keep the girl. And Hawk needs to borrow aspirin from Duke. And the bad guys end up in a world of hurt. This latest is actually going to have COBRA as the bad guy. Oh well, that’s what happens with an over-active imagination and a strong fondness for fictional characters. Unfortunately, most other fans don’t really care for my stories, since I don’t include the Ninja. I realise Larry Hama created Snake Eyes, and meant him as Scarlett’s love interest, but still…. Ninja just seem…wrong…in a military setting. Especially a US military setting.

Can’t get away from the holidays, of course. We’ve been slinging turkeys for two weeks already. Always get the upper-body work-out around the holidays! I am going to use the crockpot a lot this week, because I am going to be way too tired when I get home from work to cook. Thursday, however, I get to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade with the Kidling LIVE for the first time in years. I think the last time I didn’t work Thanksgiving Day, we were living in the UK. And the concerts are coming up: the Tree Lighting at Stillman, and the school concert. The Kidling will get to wear her new shirt and scarf.

And those two topics tie in together when I think of all our  who won’t be able to be home with loved ones for the holidays. May they all be safe and know what they mean to those of us back home.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, GI Joe, Life, Raising a Girl, Traditions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

