Fundraisers

I realise there are a lot of worthwhile organizations out there who rely on the public to meet costs. I have my favorites to donate to WHEN I CAN AFFORD IT. When these places start calling during meal hours or after 8pm, I get a bit short tempered. When they try laying a guilt trip down, I get pissed. And when they don’t have the courtesy to let me finish a sentence… I WILL hang up on you. I am not trying to be rude, but I have a life, and I can’t always sit and listen to long, sometimes rambling monologues about your organization, and how important your work is, and how much you need support. I GET IT. I still choose NOT to donate to ANY organization via a phone call, with the exception of the Children’s Miracle Network, during their telethon. I much rather make my donations locally, to established charities.

Oh, and one other rant about this? The use of HIRED BUSINESSES to do the soliciting for you kinda ticks me off too. How much of what is raised actually GETS to the charity when you have major overhead to fork out for?

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Good Manners, Life, People helping people and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fundraisers

  1. LAMarcom says:

    Annie, yeah
    Hell yeah!

Let me know what YOU think

