Modern “Manners” a Misnomer?

I work with the public. I deal with all sorts of people: interesting, boring, aggressive, sweet, surly, needy, independent, aggravating, fun, nerdy, emo, intelligent, stupid, caring, egotistical….. and I deal with them at all ages, from cradle to the grave.

Pet peeve: BAD MANNERS! And I will say it here and now…it is NOT an age related problem! I’ve dealt with the under 25 crew members who are thoughtful, polite, helpful and considerate. I have also had to deal with those “old enough to know better” who have deplorable manners. The ones who talk on the phone while placing an order or cashing out at the register; tossing the money on the counter instead of handing it to the cashier; blocking the aisle while they gab with a friend/associate; who exert NO control over young children; who make a mess, and expect others to clean up after them.

What happened to “Please”, “Thank you”, “Excuse me”? To making your children sit while you are eating in public; not allowing them to run crazy, terrorizing other customers AND workers? What happened to READING A SIGN? Most rules are in place for good reasons: safety, smooth operations, consideration. Don’t lean your ass against the counter where people put their food! Don’t leave a spill of anything for someone else to clean, if they aren’t right there when it happens. Don’t ream out a cashier when YOU didn’t read a sign correctly or at all.

And DO NOT disrespect the uniforms of the US or UK Military in my hearing. I WILL call you on it, especially if your grasp of the English language is shoddy at best.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, Good Manners, In The Work Force, Language and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Modern “Manners” a Misnomer?

  1. Unfortunately I find that those with bad manners have a lack of self respect. They don’t respect themselves thus they don’t respect others. They may have a high opinion of themselves, but that is not self respect. Until they grow enough or learn enough to respect themselves I’m afraid we have to put up with them. I take the opportunity when I encounter them to be grateful for my ability to respect myself enough not to behave in such a manner.

Let me know what YOU think

