Mother – Daughter Relationships

Annie and Meriah at Marston Vale I used to think I was pretty lucky to have a mother who was also my friend, even when we aren’t all that much alike in some things.
Now my own daughter is in her teens, and I am incredibly lucky in the fact she is one of my BEST friends. We go shopping, to the movies, to special events… all together. We have more in common than my mother and I.
Today, that was off to one of the malls for a celebration of 75 years of Marvel comics. In the past, it has been to see “Captain America, the First Avenger” and Captain America- Winter Soldier”. She has grown up on some of my favorites, like the Avengers and GI Joe; Trixie Belden and Harry Potter; Emergency! and Dr. Who…. and they are her favorites as well. She understands my quirky sense of humor, my appreciation for men in uniforms and kilts, certain cars and motorcycles and even my favorite war bird, the WWII Corsair. She has started writing fanfic, long one of my favorite pastimes, and developing her own characters to fit into pre-existing worlds….in her case, mostly GI Joe and the Avengers. We still compare pictures in the clouds, cheer together when we hear a missing pet is home safe, a warrior is home safe, or a shelter animal has found a furever home. We talk fashion, news, cars, guys, story lines, music and media. I am still her mother first, but… it’s nice to be her friend.100_1099

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Raising a Girl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

