New York State Taxes … A Crime

Two months ago, I got a notification from the State of New York Taxation Department that hubs and I owed money from 4 years ago. Distinct possibility, since the agency Nick had been with was rather late getting the W2s from California to New York. I don’t think we owed them as much, but so be it. I went to the online site, got it all set up for them to pull the money from my account. Got a confirmation that would be done in 10 working days.

IT hasn’t been done yet, and a few days ago, I get ANOTHER notification for the same damn thing. Tried calling the phone number provided. For THREE DAYS, I got the message “This number is not in service.” Today, I finally got through … to hear there is a 110 minute wait time. AN HOUR AND 40 MINUTES? Honestly? Are you kidding? Do you REALLY expect anyone who has a job, children….who has a LIFE? to wait on you for over an HOUR???

Needless to say, I hung up. I had to be ready to get the maternal unit from the hospital after her surgery. (Saving that post for another day) So the BS continues.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New York State Taxes … A Crime

  1. LAMarcom says:

    When I was putting together my own dossier to send to the FBI for my security clearance for Afghanistan, I decided to run a credit check on myself (poor credit will kill a security clearance dead).
    I discovered that the State of California claimed I owed them Forty Thousand Dollars! In back State Income Tax! I have never, ever been a California resident. I was in the Navy, yes, but was still Texan.
    Who are these people? I tried calling Sacramento, got the message which informed me they were too busy to take my call at the time. No option to leave a message: just ‘click’.
    Fifteen calls later over the course of three days, same message.
    The company I worked for in Iraq is based in Pasadena, hence, the State of California thought they could clean my pockets.
    I was spun into a dimension of pissed off I had never experienced before.

    Anyhow, I got my security clearance in spite of all this. If I had not, well…. You may have seen me on CNN, goin’ Postal, Texan style.

Let me know what YOU think

