My Health, My Job

I know my own body. I’ve found out the hard way in the past 40 odd years what it will and will not tolerate. So why is it there are doctors who haven’t known me that long out there who refuse to believe me when I tell them the drugs they insist I need are more of a danger to me than the conditions they claim I have?

Okay, I have high blood pressure. The doctor at the walk-in clinic who originally put me on lisinopril actually did listen to me when I told her I have a very low tolerance to synthetic-based drugs. She started me on 5mg. No problems there, after the first few days of some dizzy spells. My own doctor of record decided it wasn’t working fast enough and upped the dosage to 10mg. I was not just getting dizzy, I was throwing up every damn day until I stopped taking the second pill. The my doctor put me on hydrochlorothiazide. I gave it six weeks for my body to adjust to it. It didn’t. I was having bladder control issues and cramping to the point it was interfering with my job and the rest of my life. It was also costing me a small fortune in Poise pads. So I stopped taking them, and told my doctor why. She wasn’t pleased, and claimed if I didn’t take them, my pressure would go right back up again. I don’t buy that line. My father was on pressure meds for at least 20 years, and I don’t recall him ever taking a water pill with it. She also wanted to put me on Norvasc (amlodipine besylate) Um, NO! They tried that one on Dad, two aunts, my grandmother, and at least one uncle, and ALL of them had bad reactions to it. I am not stupid, and my brand of craziness does not include willingly risking my over-all health.

I know what triggered my high blood pressure, at least in part: genetics, my weight, and my smoking. I can’t do anything about genetics but deal. If I can drop the weight, and give up the cigarettes, the pressure should go down to a manageable level. So, I signed up for another Health and Wellness challenge at work. The timing is perfect. I don’t have money or time for a gym, but I do plan to get back to walking with Mom (now I can again go for an hour without running for the bathroom ), and I have a dance instruction dvd to work with that targets my worst body areas. I have cut back on the use of salt, I don’t eat a lot of refined sugars OR flour anymore, and I have been focusing on healthy eating choices: fresh vegs and fruits, whole grains, and little to no pre-prepped foods because they have way too many additives. Not only do those additives trigger my migraines, I honestly believe they are a major contributing factor in the epidemic of obesity in this country. I’ve seen too many people, children and adults alike, who have active lifestyles and still have to battle the weight. I also think all the crap in our foods today has something to do with the increase of other health-related problems. Better diagnostic tools can only account for so much of the increased numbers of autism, allergies, and cancer patients.

My next doctor’s appointment is July 7th. The Health and Wellness challenge also runs into July. We’ll see then how well I do correcting my health problems without chemicals that may correct what they’re assigned to, but will also add more to the mix.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Dietary Concerns, health, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

