Saying Good-Bye to Childhood

Mom and I belong to the local Neighborhood Watch. It’s a good organization, and can really help clean up problems and keep trouble out. Near our house is an area we have always called Sherwood. Part of it belonged to the Country Club, part to the city. Not really a great building site because of the topography. Only now, they are building there. They want to put 150 units (1,2 and 3 bedroom). They basically plan on re-doing our park and pond area. It’s too much! Any other comparable area here has between 24 and 30 units (2 or 3 family buildings) This thing is going to totally destroy the feel of our island. But all some people are looking at is how much they can make out of the deal. There are words and names for people like that. Since my daughter occasionally reads my blog, I am not going to list them. I am thinking them. It isn’t doing my blood pressure any good, but it is what it is.

After that meeting, I got home, and hopped on to check my email. The FIRST one I opened, from the Alumni office at PSC, was to inform me of the passing of an incredible woman. Ruth Hoyt was such a sweet, friendly, intelligent lady, with a love of the history of that area. Her smile will be missed.

It was not a good night.

This weekend, I originally meant to be in the UK, at a convention celebrating the 30th anniversary of Richard “Kip” Carpenter’s “Robin of Sherwood”, one of my all-time favorite shows. Several members of the cast and crew were there. They had a flaming arrow ceremony in memory of Kip last night. Thank all the gods Lutine got it on video, so I could see it, even if it was after the fact. Had I been there, I might have cried… I do that. Especially since everyone reporting from the con is telling us Mark Ryan and Jason Connery actually shot the arrows. I am really bummed I didn’t actually get the chance to meet some of my favorite actors, and meet face-to-face some of the wonderful folk I’ve made friends with on-line because of our shared interest in a marvelous production. Ah well! At least I can enjoy the pics and posts of those friends!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, death, Life, life on the internet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

