Enough Already!

I’m a gal who loves living where I can enjoy all four seasons. That said, even I’ve had enough winter for one session. Mainly because last night was all about ICE, not snow, and WIND. It sounded like it was trying to break the windows, and it shook the house. Ice, in my opinion, belongs on lakes and ponds, not on the roads or my car.

At five-thirty this morning, the phone rang. It was the school district’s automated calling system, letting me know there was a two hour delay to the school day. Wonderful. I shut off the alarm and went back to sleep. At seven-thirty, I got up, got the Kidling up, fixed breakfast, and called the store to tell them I would be an hour late. (The delay meant no bus) Then I went out to start cleaning off the Bravada. The doors were frozen shut. The only one that would open was the back hatch. So, I crawled in that way, over the seats to the front. I took a moment to pray she’d start before even putting the key in. Minor success: she started with no problem. Turned on the heat and defrosters, started trying to get the doors from the inside. Not happening. Meanwhile, Mom is on the outside, clearing the dusting of snow off the inch of ice. I crawled back over the seats and went out the hatch, came inside and got two containers of lukewarm water, and went back out to carefully pour the water over the ice around the edges of the two front doors. Success: they opened. I moved the Bravada from the garage to the side of the house and locked it with the key in it, still running. Then I went in to get ready for work.

The streets were a mess, mostly slush. Could have been worse; I didn’t hit any major ice patches. Dropped Kidling off at school and continued on to work. Didn’t realize until I was on the way home that her door had never fully closed. The only thing that kept it shut was the fact the lock was set.

All I wanted to do when I got home was sleep. Been like that the last few weeks. Don’t know if it’s because it’s so cold out and my quilt and duvet are so warm, or because I’m still sick. I slept for about an hour. I am now going to bed for the night.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Life, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

