My Favorite Things

With all respect to Rodgers and Hammerstein, I don’t do white dresses with blue satin sashes.

More by the way of being a list rather than a proper post, my favorite things, those things I think of or do to beat the blues, runs quite a gamut: from time with family and friends to time alone. A good book or a song that somehow touches me, to looking at the moon. A pancake breakfast with real maple syrup and people I may only see once a year. A long walk on a cool, clear autumn day. Building a snowman and making snow angels. Puttering in my flower garden. A picnic at the lake. Curling up with a dog or cat. County fairs, happy endings, canoeing. Getting something done right the first time. A spring breeze that smells of wet earth and new growth. A summer breeze that smells of baked earth and roses. An autumn breeze that smells of harvest. A winter wind that smells clean and crisp. The laughter of innocent children. Watching my daughter perform, or receive an award for something she’s worked hard at. The smell of fresh laundry, fresh mown grass or hay, or lilacs. A good meal. Dancing or singing, or giving a good performance on stage. Sitting by a lake, pond, river or ocean on a sunny day… or on a cloudy day. Seeing the Northern Lights. Having enough to pay the bills AND do something special. Baby animals that are warm and clean and well-fed and cared for. Listening to birdsong. Watching a raptor in flight, or on the hunt. Watching butterflies. The feeling of accomplishment when I finish something I had to push myself to do at all.

These are what I think of or seek out or do when depression threatens. Most of the time, they work. Sometimes, the only thing that helps at all is curling up in a ball and having a good cry. Or screaming wordlessly at the top of my lungs. Let it all out, wash my face, and get on with life again.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Favorite Things

  1. LAMarcom says:

    A few of my favorite things: The smell of freshly plowed earth. Black coffee. Playing ‘Civilization Five’ for eight hours at a time. Watching The Masters Golf Tournament. Stupid shit some Texan politicians say. Reading over and over again Molly Ivins.

    Oh, and I love a good beer buzz early in the morning while listening to Sheryl Crow.

Let me know what YOU think

