Valentine: Spam, Blizzards and the Olympics

Yes, that  one IS an SUV,

Yeah, maybe a little all over the board today. I’ve been lazy/busy with real life, and not devoting the attention to this blog that I maybe should. So, where to start?

The end of an Olympic era. I LOVELOVELOVE watching figure skating. The grace, the power, the artistry …I am also well aware of the chance of serious injury to skaters. When Evgeni Plushenko withdrew from the men’s competition, there was dead silence…was it shock or respect? In this house, it was a little of both. Mr. Plushenko, you made a hard choice, but the right one. That said, thank you for the last four Olympics, and the joy you gave with your abilities. Still with the men’s skating: Jeremy Abbott: If they had a gold for True Grit, you’d have it for sure!

Onward. The spam this time may go right along with Valentine’s Day.

Oh.Good.Gods. Eharomony, ChristianMingle. LocalSingles. BlacksMeetingBlacks. Hot Asian brides. Hot Russian Brides. Affairs with married women. JDate, OurTimeDating….. Mighty Aphrodite, GIVE ME A BREAK!!! I am not: Christian, Jewish, male, lesbian, over 50 (yet) or black. I am not interested in cheating on my husband. So these dubious sites are really barking up the wrong tree filling my spam filter. If they spent as much time attending to the business they do get as they waste spamming people, it boggles the mind to think what they might positively accomplish.

Seven years ago, we had a blizzard in this area on Valentine’s Day. It’s basically happened again. (Okay, so technically, the blizzard was yesterday/last night. Still, close enough) I think Cohoes got 15 inches of new snow. I haven’t been any further than the front and back door, so I really haven’t checked this for myself. I was supposed to work this morning, so I set my alarm for 5am, knowing I needed to dig out the Bravada. Well, I was up at 5 without the alarm. I was up BEFORE 5 without the alarm. The Kidling and I spent a few hours over-night tag-teaming each other at the toilet. I called the store at 5 to tell them I wouldn’t be in. It is now 10 am, and I am STILL dealing with nausea, vomiting, and sleep deprivation. I was waiting to call the school..glad I waited. At 6am, they finally called it a snow day, so Kidling won’t be penalized for missing anything. She is finally getting some sleep, without the hacking and tossing cookies. I envy her. At some point, I need to get outside and dig out the cars. Mom did the back steps, and Dennis next door did the back walk. He had to go to work…don’t know how he got out, tho…..

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, Life, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

