December in my Childhood

December in my childhood… is it just changed memory? I remember snow. Usually by my birthday. Definitely for Christmas. I remember tobogganing: down the hill by the grade school, down the hill in front of my grandparents’ home, down the hill at the end of Myrtle Ave,. I remember skating on the pond. Building snow forts in the huge mounds the plows would leave on some corners.

It is December 29, 2013, and the RAIN is beating against the window. I have not moved away from where I used to skate and sled, but we don’t get as much snow anymore. Now we get rain, and my heavy jacket only gets used at night when I go with Mom to walk the dog… mostly, because it is white, and shows up in the dark.

Nick helped me put away the Christmas dishes. The Kidling helped with the laundry. Tomorrow, Nick goes back to the UK. Not looking forward to it. Then again, I am not sure I am looking forward to 2014 at all. The mess this old world is in makes it a depressing thing to contemplate.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

