This Time of Year

Thanksgiving is done with, and the left-overs have been devoured. Those of my friends of the Jewish persuasion have celebrated Chanukah. The final push toward Christmas, Yule, Kwanzaa and New Years is now on. My Christmas Village is out, the December dishes are in use, my Winter Angels are on display, and my altar lacks only some greenery, which I plan to deal with tomorrow. We also plan to get trees tomorrow. It’s the time of magic and wishes; elves on the shelves, reindeer with the power to fly (and the occasional red nose). Holly and mistletoe, the smell of pine, a warm and cheery fire on a cold winter’s night. Cookies baking in the kitchen and filling the house with the most mouth-watering smells. Carols floating on the breeze. Children whispering hopes and dreams to Santa. Traditions old and new. I am not sure there is any other time of year that so clearly shows the best (and the worst) of mankind. Tomorrow in California, a wonderful group of people will host a Christmas Breakfast with Santa for children who wouldn’t have much, if any, a Christmas otherwise… and these are people who work year round to help those who need it. BLESS YOU, COMBAT RADIO!

And the world lost a man. Nelson Mandela, a man of hope and peace. Thinking about it, although my heart hurts for his family, I can’t but think it somehow appropriate that this intelligent, gentle man lay down his burdens in this point of the year when so many religions look to peace and good will. He will rest as the earth rests, and be mourned like the passing year. Then his people, refreshed by the calm, will move ahead in the spring with hope in his teachings reborn. (Well, I can hope and dream, can’t I?)

One of my favorite songs was written by Danny Allen Wheetman, and sung by John Denver and Kermit the Frog:

“I don’t know if you believe in Christmas, or if you have presents underneath a Christmas tree

But if you believe in love, that will be more than enough for you to come and celebrate with me…..”

If I don’t get a chance to post for a while, have a Blessed Holiday, one and all, no matter which holiday you celebrate at this holy time of year.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, Life, Seasons, Traditions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Time of Year

  1. oldwolfmcmlxiii says:

    Some how I don’t think Africa is quite finished with Nelson Mandala ( of course i refer you to the Allen Quartermain Grave scene in The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen)

Let me know what YOU think

