A House of Angels

http://www.renaissanceprojects.org/index.html

Tonight was an open house for a WONDERFUL venue and a repurposing of an important building in Cohoes’s architectural and historical background. Mom, the Kidling and I walked over.

The pyramid steps out front are safe again. The light inside shone out the stain glass windows. The medallions of the 12 apostles haven’t looked so good in generations. The floor gleamed. The old pews have been converted to chairs worthy of royalty.There were snacks and live entertainment. And the art! The angels on the walls were gorgeous! One in particular, by Mico di Arpo, really had the Kidling’s attention. She told me it called her… the picture I linked to below shows 4 angels… the finished project has 5, and the last one is in violet, holding paint brushes, and looks a bit like an adult version of my daughter.

http://micodiarpo.com/house_of_angels_project

I did feel a little… uncomfortable. Like I told Mom on the way home, it wasn’t MY reaction to the work done there… I am all for such a beautiful, functional way of preserving the old church. I have to wonder if I was picking up on the disapproval of some former priest/deacon.

And to top the night off, one of my old friends from high school was there with her mother and aunt. So were a couple of other friends, so getting to talk to them was cool.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, history and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

