Another Near-Miss

What happens when you mix a sore throat, earache, a teen’s potentially disastrous “mistake”, lack of nicotine, a duck that doesn’t cook properly, and assorted other issues?
Melt-down.

I have today slammed the phone down on my husband, screamed non-stop at the 14 year old for a good five minutes, cursed at my mother, and stomped out of rooms.

Started today calling Mom to cancel a planned outing, since my throat and ear both hurt. I went back to sleep. The Kidling and I got up later. She made herself Ramen noodles. She also turned the dial in the wrong direction. She did NOT turn the burner off, just down. It was hours later when I caught it…and freaked. She had her standard excuse: It was an accident. Well, that doesn’t help matters when you’re standing on the street watching your house and everything you own go up in flames, praying the entire family, including the dog, got out, and wondering what the hell you’re going to do now.

Then the whole supper debacle. I got a duck on sale the other day: $8 instead of $31. It didn’t cook like it was supposed to. We ended up nuking some of the meat for tonight. The rest is in the crock pot for soup tomorrow.

And in between, I have screamed and thrown things, and stomped out of the room. The Kidling went running to her room, and I know I hurt Mom’s feelings, too.

I should have stayed in bed all day, not bought the duck. I need to take one of my migraine pills now.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Raising a Girl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Near-Miss

  1. 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

    Lawd! Sounds like you live with me! Sorry you had such a horrible day, week, month.

Let me know what YOU think

