Mish Mash from the Weekend

This time of year is so fantastic in my opinion. We started out September with the Schaghticoke Fair, at the Tugboat Round-Up…and this year, Kidling starting High School. The Harvest Fest at the Menands Farmer’s Market. Getting established in things like PTSO and Booster Club. Kidling has a list of new shows to check out, and the season premiers  of old favorites.  This past Saturday was the Fall Fest out at Five Rivers Environmental Center. Since we have lost Ares, we now have Athena out there. She was found in the middle of a road, injured, and lost one eye due to it. Yes, she is a Barred Owl. Archimedes, Aristotle,  Ptolemy, Ares and now Athena.. and all Barred Owls. (I’m not sure, but I think that trend may be due to Nancy.) Next weekend, the Kidling and her Grammie will be working the Music Hall…. for LES MIZ, which of course suits the Kidling just fine.

Then I sat and actually looked at the shows we’ve been watching/ want to watch on TV. Never thought I’d be big on “reality” tv… and I’m not all that sure we are… But “Duck Dynasty”  beats “Jersey Shores” all the way, and “Call of the Wildman” is dear to both my heart and the Kidling’s.  (Turtleman really won her appreciation with how well he handled a certain scared little red pony he named Crazy Horse) There are no real “comedies” on our list, and some nights we just turn the box off. Kidling is waiting to see how they handle her beloved Marvel Universe  creation, “S.H.I.E.L.D.”  I am waiting for “GRIM”, “Five-0”, “Longmire”. We are both waiting for new “GHOST HUNTERS” episodes, and we’re checking out “Sleepy Hollow”. It’s an interesting premise, but I have GOT to wonder what Washington Irving would think of what they’re doing to his story.

Last night, we had the news on, and my 14 year old daughter looks at me and says “All of those politicians need to just GO. They aren’t helping anyone but themselves, and being selfish about all of it.” She feels it isn’t surprising they don’t get much done. Smart kid. I was in my late teens before I even bothered paying attention. And we had Watergate! These days, it seems just when people threaten to force politicians into accountability on something, something else happens that can be used to shift the focus again.  Usually a mass shooting. (Interesting how most of those take place in areas with the strictest most restrictive laws.)

Well, it definitely feels like an autumn day! So, I have Golden Harvest Soup in the crockpot for supper, and some chicken noodle on for my lunch. Today is my quiet “It’s MY Day” day. Back to the work-week tomorrow, and Kidling’s back to the school week. Just glad she’s loving high school so far. That’s one less headache I need to deal with.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, Life, politics, Raising a Girl, Seasons, Traditions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mish Mash from the Weekend

  1. LAMarcom says:

    “All of those politicians need to just GO. They aren’t helping anyone but themselves, and being selfish about all of it.”

    From the mouth of babes….
    Ya know something Annie? I love reading your stuff. I have to say, we are kindred.
    Happy Friday to you my friend.

Let me know what YOU think

