Heat Wave

 

A Heat Wave is defined as a period of abnormally and uncomfortably hot and usually humid weather. Such a period should last at least one day, but conventionally it lasts from several days to several weeks.

Some people love the heat. Some of them may have grown up with it, some of them just seem genetically pre-disposed toward it.
Me, I cannot tolerate anything over about 85f or 45% humidity with any sort of grace. I melt. I get short tempered, sluggish, and all I want to do is hide in the cool dark of an air-conditioned room. In the winter, when it’s cold, I can layer clothing, wear wool socks and silk stockings, and drink infinite amounts of hot chocolate and tea. There are only so many layers society allows us to dispense with in the heat. I don’t have a pool, and my migraine triggers don’t tolerate the sounds of half the city running riot at the municipal pool.

Maybe it’s time to put a lawn chair under the sprinkler on the lawn and fall asleep there….

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Life, Seasons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heat Wave

  1. oldwolfmcmlxiii says:

    I have a shaded patch no one can see into and the radio shack thatI can be naked in

Let me know what YOU think

