What Happened to Childhood?

Maybe I was just sheltered growing up… but no, that isn’t quite right. I was aware of teen pregnancy and drug and alcohol use among older teens. Hell, there was one stairwell in our school most of us tried to avoid, because of the smell of pot that clung to it. The high school… not the middle school. I don’t remember too many of my classmates starting to “experiment” before 9th or 10th grade.

One of my daughter’s classmates is in trouble yet again, and apparently, it all comes down to drugs. He’s using. I am sad to see it, because when he applies himself, he can be an intelligent and mannered young man. He’s just 14 years old! I really hate to think of where this boy may end up down the road. I HOPE my daughter can look at the situation and stay clear of anything similar.

Is this stuff coming from the parents, or society, or….where? All the anti-drug, anti-drunk campaigns, and yet still, the persuasive, cloying allure of mind-altering substances clings and grows and grabs for more of our children all the time. Is this because of disappointment, maybe? They are learning the world is NOT theirs to just grab and run with, and feel so disconnected, they resort to false rainbows?

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, health, Raising a Girl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

