Summer’s Here!

Okay, I now have some breathing space…time to catch up and set forward? Maybe?

Last Sunday and Monday was NOT fun for me. Every great once in a while, my blood pressure, which is usually normal range, decides to go into orbit. When it happens, I get a bloody nose. It used to happen to my dad, too. Usually, I get it under control and stopped in five minutes.  Monday, for the second time in my life, I ended up in the ER because I was still gushing blood after 24 hours.  I won’t go into the icky details… suffice to say, not comfortable, not fun. They stuck a plug in my nose and handed me a script for Cephalexin, gave me a note for work and let me go home.  I will not take Cephalexin again if I need to do anything at all! Monday and Tuesday, I passed the lack of energy and legarthy off to the loss of blood. Wednesday, I thought that should have passed. Guess what some of the side-effects of Cephalexin are? Feelings of weakness. That was the last of those pills. I needed to be able to walk on Thursday!

IMG_0068

 

Thursday it was off to 6 Flags New England for the 8th Grade trip. I did look into renting an electric chair, but it was pricey, so I walked. The nice thing is you can always find someplace to sit for a few minutes when you need to. The Loony Toons were out and about!

IMG_0053

 

I love Loony Toons. I got the Kidling with Bugs, Elmer Fudd, Sylvester, then a group shot with Daffy, Taz and Foghorn Leghorn.No sunburns… remembered to take and USE the sunscreen this time. Kidling’s first purchase when we got there was a pair of sunglasses, though.  It was a beautiful day in Massachusetts, and I think the kiddies had a lot of fun. I didn’t insist my group stay together, as long as they checked in when they needed to. When we were gathering at 4pm, V showed up with a stuffed elephant almost as tall as she is!  We left there at 4pm, had a picnic in the parking lot, and headed home.

IMG_0077

 

Friday was the Moving Up Ceremony, aka 8th grade graduation. Kidling put on her dress… and it was too short. There was NO WAY I was letting her wear a skirt that barely covered her ass.  Luckily, she has a pair of white leggings that looked good with it, so the dress became a tunic top. Kept her hair simple this time, and Grammie took her up to school (since she missed the bus). At 9am, Grammie and I found some seats in the gym, and chatted with other families.  I videoed the students coming in, Kidling and V singing the National Anthem, and the chorus singing “Let Them Be Little”.  I also got video of Kidling receiving another Booster Club award. (Already got all those videos to the Hubs and his folks) and a still shot of her coming off the stage after getting her certificate.( Her report card arrived in the mail today, and I am so proud of her! 87.47 final average for the year! ) Grammie treated for lunch, and the Kidling picked Red Robin.

This morning, it was off to the Farmer’s Market in Menands. Grammie finally got more corn to plant. We got strawberries, rhubarb, peaches..and some plantings for our Fairie Gardens… Irish Moss for Kidling’s, Pennyroyal for mine, and English Lavender for both. We stopped at a second hand store and the flea market in Powers Park, and found some other things for the gardens…and a cane for me, since I still seem to have issues with the hip, especially on hills.

Starting Monday, Kidling gets to sleep until 7 or 8am, but she’ll have chores to do before any computer time, and we plan to hit the city pool at least once a week. She’s also thinking about joining Color Guard in August.  We’ll see.

All Hail the Oak King! Let the bells of Summer ring!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, health, Raising a Girl, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer’s Here!

  1. oldwolfmcmlxiii says:

    Well done to the kidlet on the grades and on having a good time friday …..

Let me know what YOU think

