Growing Things

Well, Mom got most of the garden in: corn, tomatoes, peas, and I don’t know what else. The Kidling still has to plant her basil and parsley. She put some flowers in near the flag pole.

Image

Image

The blueberry bush is really doing well! If we can beat the squirrels, groundhog, skunk and birds to the berries as they ripen, we should have some crop. We’ve already been picking strawberries.

Image

And this year has been something for my roses!

Image

 

Image

 

Image

The white bush is called a Winter Rose… it sometimes blooms in February, if the weather is mild enough. It didn’t this year, but MAN! Is it ever making up for it now! And the roses are BIG.

Image

That is my hand in the picture. As you can see, the bloom is bigger than my fist. That bush also has the most stems per inch than any other rose I have ever come across. It is the only one I MUST wear gloves when trimming, or even just taking a few flowers off to bring inside. But I think it is still my favorite. It is the oldest bush here, and was planted the year the house was finished… 1923, I think. 

Now we head into the Kidling’s last month of middle school… the 8th Grade dance, field trip, school awards, Booster Club banquet, and 8th Grade Graduation. My baby isn’t one anymore!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Raising a Girl, Seasons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing Things

  1. I’m really jealous of your strawberries. They look yummy. I’m afraid the birds got most of mine this year. Our blueberries are finally being protected by a fruit cage. I hope I harvest a lot of purple berries. Your photos are wonderful. Great job and good luck!

Let me know what YOU think

