A Rant About the English Language…or what passes as such

I really worry about the future of the spoken word… “Axes” instead of “asks”; dropping small words; messing up tenses and such… Do you really think you sound intelligent speaking in such a manner? I recently listened to an interview with a published author, and I couldn’t believe the woman sounded more like an inner-city drop-out than a successful young woman. It is a pet peeve of mine, even more than spelling. (Of course, I can’t spell for a hill of beans myself) It is like the dumbing-down of the American Public. Why do some people find honing good vocal skills beyond them? I am aware some people have physical issues that affect speech… and yet it seems those people pay more attention to how they sound, how they present themselves.
My old speech coach must be rolling in his grave.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, Good Manners, Life, People helping people and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Rant About the English Language…or what passes as such

  1. LAMarcom says:

    I am so with you on this.
    My personal pet peeve: mixing up then with than and vice-versa.
    Make me crazy!

Let me know what YOU think

