Living With a Horse & Musical Crazy Teen

My daughter is fourteen. There are two things in her life that have been a constant: Her love of horses, and her love of classical musicals… the top of which list is LES MISERABLES. You might think these obsessions would mean I don’t have to worry about her too much. In a way, that’s true: she’d rather be riding or going to the theater than anything else. That is expensive, tho… She and my mother volunteer at the local Music Hall, which means she gets to see some shows for free when she’s ushering…. and we found out tonight, they are doing LES MIS this October… which almost cost me some of my angels, because she got so excited, she started jumping and dancing around… and nearly knocked things flying. She’s already broken one of my angels (although I did manage to glue it back together) She gets so excited, she forgets there isn’t a lot of space inside for dancing.

Still in all, I think having her focused on something such as animals and theater helps. I don’t have quite as much fear for her high school years as I might have… between classes and drama, she won’t have time to get into trouble! And theater is a creative outlet. I am thinking about signing her up for the theater’s summer camp for her age group.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Raising a Girl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

