Quick, Easy (Hot) Lunches

My .02 on quick, easy lunches, especially good when you have the kids home.

1} Grilled Cheese. Perennial favorite, easy to do, and you can change it up with provolone  Swiss  Munster, and mozzarella, as well as American.

2} Ramen Noodles. Yeah, they’re full of stuff I really shouldn’t eat, but I like them and they are cheap and easy

3} Kapusta on toast. That’s my attempt to spell the Polish word for sauerkraut. Fry up a bit of the kraut with a little butter and spread it on the toast. I don’t butter the toast, because the butter is in the kraut.

4} All-beef franks. I throw them in the toaster oven on BROIL. Serve with or without a bun, add condiments of your choice. I like kraut and brown mustard. The Kidling likes catsup and mustard.

5} Scrambled Egg wraps. Scramble your eggs, use a wrap of your choice (I like using tortillas) add what you like: I use salsa and bacon.

6} Soup. I have to be careful of what brands/types I use because of my allergies to the sulfates and I know some people need to watch the sodium contents. But soup is still a great lunch.

7} Leftovers. Leftovers are great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Get creative. Use just leftovers, or combine them with something else for something new. Last night, Mom took leftover mashed potatoes, and layered them with two tilapia fillets (potatoes, fish, potatoes  fish, and potatoes) and baked it in the toaster oven.

8} Veggie burgers or Beef burgers. Well, I have the franks above. Every once in a while, I really like a spicy black bean burger or a garden veggie burger. Here again, bread is optional, and condiments to taste,

9} Jacket Potato. You can cook it the old fashioned way, or nuke it. Extras to taste: sour cream, cheese, salsa, chives, bacon bits

10} Beans on toast. One of hubby’s favorites for breakfast or lunch. A can of your favorite beans, toast (buttered or unbuttered, your choice)

What is your favorite recipe?

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in cooking, Saving Money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick, Easy (Hot) Lunches

  1. oldwolfmcmlxiii says:

    Sardines on Toast with some extra ketchup – Tomato of course

  2. I make grilled cheese, but I use Kraft Singles. I really ought to experiment with other cheeses! I’ve never had kraut on toast, but that sounds yummy – I have some kraut, I will try that.

Let me know what YOU think

