Catching Up… Maybe

When I started this blog, I really meant to spend more time on it. I didn’t want to turn it into a political thing, because there are so many of those already out there, many written much better than I could do, by people willing to dig deeper into the cesspool that is politics. I can say what I THINK, and what I believe I would do, but that’s it, and I am not sure who cares.

I started this blog to try to share saving tips, but there are lots of better written blogs on that subject, too. And cooking. And history.

So it has become a mish-mash. And some readers seem to like that.

So, catch up time.

I hate February for the most part. Yeah, the Kidling’s birthday is in February. And my Mother-in-law’s and sister-in-law’s, and a few friends. But I hate February, In 1983, my paternal grandfather and my mom’s brother died in February, less than a week apart. I can tell you the Cowboys won the Super Bowl that year. Four years later,my maternal grandfather died in February. Ten days after that, my paternal grandmother   also passed away. In 1994, my great-grandfather died the day before his 97th birthday. So I really don’t care for February. And don’t get me started on St Valentine’s Day! If you can’t show someone you love them EVERY day, spending a lot of money on one day of the year is a hollow gesture in my book.

I have been working on the genealogy project. I actually “found” another cousin and a whole “new” line of relatives, which was awesome. LOVE Ancestry.com! Now I get to talk to my grandmother’s cousin every so often. It’s cool to talk to someone who remembers people who were just names and sometimes fading black and white photos to me. Thomas even identified people in a photo my dad’s cousin shared with me: I had two of the four correct by guessing….Mary Byron Barrett Carbury (my great-great-great-grandmother, who was married twice) and Johanna Barrett Kelleher (my great-great-grandmother who my dad always called The Pharoh). Turns out the other woman in the picture is Thomas’s mother Catherine (Johanna’s daughter-in-law) and the baby is his oldest brother William. Thomas’s dad, William Sr, was named for Johanna’s brother. I have a copy of his WWI draft card.

And I’ve been dealing with the fact my baby girl is growing up. She just turned 14. This June, there is the 8th Grade graduation and dance to think about. And this coming Monday, I have to go to the middle school and meet with her and her Guidance Counselor to talk about high school and set up her class schedule for her freshman year. This past week, she’s been on vacation. Slowly cleaning her room and sorting through clothing… and taking a shower every day without me having to get on her case about it. She’s been paying more attention to her “style”, too. This should make for an interesting shopping trip when it’s time to get dresses for graduation and the dance.

Taxes are filed, so I just need to wait on my refund checks. I get those, and it means stocking the freezer, the pantry, and the paper products. And I promised the Kidling a Girl’s Day Out… probably at Crossgates, where we have all sorts of shopping options, possibly a movie, and Johnny Rocket’s, our favorite burger joint. (Where I can still EAT the burgers without paying for it later.)

This week hasn’t been much fun. Sunday, I was up in the attic digging out some old photos. When I got up with an armload, I twisted… and pulled something in my back. I have been using the ice pack and heating pad all week. Had to have the Kidling help me off the bed, out of chairs. She tried to talk me out of going to work, because I could barely move. Unfortunately, I don’t work, I don’t get paid. It wasn’t too bad. Actually, the more I walk the better I feel. And I didn’t have any bagging shifts.

We’re selling paper shamrocks to raise money for MDA, something we do every year. This year, they’ve made it a double contest: individuals and teams. I looked at the team I am on and felt sorry for our team leader. Out of ten people, he has ONE who really sells donations. I am at the point I really don’t like asking people constantly for money for this foundation or that one. I don’t even donate to all of them myself. I can’t afford it. I have limited it to those things that have affected me: Spinal Bifida  Cystic Fibrosis, Diabetes  Heart Disease, and Children’s charities. Usually, that last one means the Children’s Miracle Network and Adopt-an-Angel. This past year, I’ve included Adrian Paul’s PEACE FUND. We as individuals cannot do it all, but what we can do, we should. It may be our family to benefit. Decide what you can afford, and which groups mean the most to you.  Oh, and always try to support your local  fire and rescue departments!

Alrighty then. I think that sorta brings it up to speed. I promise I will try a little harder to keep up with things, even if it’s only to start bombarding you with my poetry.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, People helping people, Raising a Girl and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catching Up… Maybe

  1. oldwolfmcmlxiii says:

    My Charities tend to Search and Rescue ones like the National Search and Rescue Dog Association and the local team box where I visit ,and The Royal British Legion

Let me know what YOU think

