I am NOT “Them” or “Us”…

I am ME. I have opinions about most things. Some of my friends can’t understand where some of my opinions come from. They think they conflict with each other.

I am PRO CHOICE. I don’t like the idea of abortion as birth control, but I firmly believe the ONLY person with the right to make the call on abortion is the woman who is carrying a fetus. I don’t live her life, so I DO NOT KNOW the emotional, financial or physical toll the pregnancy is taking on her. Neither does anyone else. And to force her to give birth? Aren’t there enough unwanted children in the world? Enough little ones living with abuse? In poverty? I really don’t see all these Pro-lifers stepping up to take care of these unwanted, unsupported babies. I also note a lot of so-called Christian paths don’t seem to believe Postpartum Depression is real. Believe me, it is VERY real, and terrifying to deal with. Especially when some medical professionals seem to think you’re making things up for attention.  Make Birth Control more affordable and available, and there won’t be so many abortions. You don’t believe in Birth Control or abortion: don’t have either. I also don’t get the Catholic church’s stand on hysterectomies. Unless it has changed, they are as against that as they are abortions. Well, guess what? When a woman has HEALTH problems that endanger HER life, and a hysterectomy can correct the problem… IT IS HER CHOICE. My mother was threatened with ex-communication for having a hysterectomy. She had two young children at the time. Was she supposed to risk leaving my father alone to deal with us? When it was found during the course of the surgery there was also a tubular pregnancy, the priest apparently really got ticked. The fetus was already dead in her Fallopian tube, and poisoning her system. I can’t conceive of growing up without my mother there.

I am also pro-gun. I was raised around them, and taught the rules right from the start. We didn’t solve disputes with guns. I still wouldn’t reach for a gun in a moment of anger. When I look at the number of “mass murders” with guns these days, I see people who were brought up to feel entitled, who think the world owes them something. Accidental shootings? Most of them are people who have forgotten the rules, or were never taught them. Sen. Dianne Feinstein is one of those who spring to mind as a frightening example of that. I can’t find it now (the link comes up as broken) but the one video I saw of her pushing for her ban on “assault rifles” shows her in a room full of people, waving a rifle around WITH HER FINGER ON THE TRIGGER! And someone signed for this person to have a concealed carry handgun? When she hasn’t got a frigging CLUE about gun safety? OR the parts of the weapons she wants to ban? Really? GIVE ME A BREAK!

I am also against animal cruelty, giving ANY rights to rapists,  strip mining, fracking, genetic manipulation of foods via chemicals, all the crap the industry injects in meat, some vaccines, and cloning. I think Big Business needs to be hauled back, and banks need to have stricter laws THEY need to abide by.Cut the plea bargaining in courts: Someone did the crime, they need to pay for it. Nor am I a big fan of Obamacare. Yeah, it is nice to be able to take my child to the doctor or an ER in case of emergency and not have to worry about bills that are more than I make in a year. This country doesn’t have the infrastructure to pull it off.

I am for the Death Penalty, restricting government, limiting terms on ANY public office, and granting teachers tenure based on their ability, not how long they’ve been with a district. separation of Church and State,I am for the LGBT members of this world having the same rights as everyone else.

Immigration: When I think of the hoops my family went through to get my husband his Visa/Green Card/ citizenship  I want to round up every single illegal alien and dump them back where they came from.

So, I am not fully conservative, or liberal, or anything. I am me, and I vote according to the individual item. I am sick and tired of politicians trying to legislate morality, health choices, food choices, etcetera etcetera . As long as my choices in life do not infringe or PROVABLY endanger anyone else’s… leave me the hell alone. I have the right to decide what goes into my body. I have the right to determine my own religious views, and to teach my child how to think for herself. I HAVE THE RIGHT. Not the politicians or the various religious sects.ME.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, Gun Control, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am NOT “Them” or “Us”…

  1. LAMarcom says:

    I hear ya! Especially the Pro Choice. I am so sick of all these idiots running around with their ‘fetus fetish’ worn on their arm and their bullshit running rampant from their mouths.

Let me know what YOU think

