The Dark Season

‘Tis the season of Lights… Christmas lights, the candles of Hanukkah and Kwanzaa, the bonfires of Yule… the traditions the grew out of holding back the dark and summoning back the sun. In modern times, a frenzied, stressed-out period of time most still manage to enjoy. Its all about family, after all.

Only, this year, it doesn’t feel the same. I look over the images in my mind, and try to pint-point where it started feeling wrong.
Okay, having Christmas music and ads on the radio on Halloween did NOT help. People losing jobs and homes doesn’t help. Most weeks, I am only getting 14 hours myself. I fell behind on my TWC payments because it was more important to keep food on the table and gas in the car. Which meant buying gifts was really low on the totem pole. Usually, I spread it out over the year…buying when I see things on sale and stock-piling. This year, it just didn’t seem to happen. I MUST be better about that in 2013. I also didn’t do as much baking as I normally do. Gotta do better with that, too….it is cheaper to bake bread and cookies that it is to buy them.

I need to do more sewing and crafting, too, although at least this year, I did a bit more: Mom, the Kidling and my Secret Santa victim are all getting homemade gifts this year.

 

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, Pagan, Traditions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

