Sandy, Samhain, and all the Rest

It’s been a busy few days. Friends in the UK and NZ have been in touch, worried about how close my family is to the mess. My aunt and uncle in Bayonne lost power, but claim to be alright…they have four children in other areas of New Jersey who didn’t lose power, so I am sure they can go to one of them for a few days. My one cousin in Pennsylvania did lose power…which meant she lost a few hundred dollars worth of food (she’d JUST refilled her freezer) A large branch fell on the brother’s roof, but there was no damage. I don’t know what he’ll find tomorrow when he heads to the hunting camp in the Poconos. Sandy gave my little pocket of New York a kissing miss…we had some of the wind, very little of the rain, never lost power, no flooding. Which is a good thing, because it means this area can send people and resources to harder-hit areas…after all, some of them came to us last year when Irene tried wiping five counties off the map around here. (NY/VT/CT) My heart aches for those who have lost their homes and reminders of other days, and pretty much everything but the clothes on their backs. Even worse is the loss of pets…some bolted, some owners panicked. There ARE pages to reconnect pets and animals, and pages to reconnect family and friends. I lit a candle for the lives lost…My belief system says there will be a returning for those souls, but that does little to help the grief of the families now. I am amazed how fast people all over the country and the globe started looking for ways to help. CombatRadio, out in California, has been tweeting all week about donating to the Red Cross. (Thanks Ethan and Crew!) There is already a concert planned to raise money for the cause. The cynical part of me says the stars WOULD want to see NYC back to normal ASAP. But since certain celebs seem to be there any time they can be of help, and I think those people are angels among us…Okay, considering some of those I adore most, maybe angels with tarnished halos, but still…

 

By the way, if you want to listen to awesome talk radio, give CombatRadio and May The Forbes Be With You a try. Music, film, issues, and charities are all covered, along with just about any other topic known to humankind. http://www.latalkradio.com/Combat.php    http://www.latalkradio.com/Forbes.php

 

Samhain/Halloween…. I dressed up for work this year, like I do every year I work on the day. Any excuse to be something different and maybe brighten our customers’ day. Although we did have one old biddy who we were waiting to see either fall on her face or instantaneously combust… her disapproving nose was so far in the air, I was surprised she didn’t trip over her own feet, and of course she was one of those killjoys who mutter about the devil’s work and evil influences. It wasn’t a really busy day, but for some reason, my feet HURT. And I forgot to get candy for MY house, and Mom ran out before I got home (all the munchkins were out early, since we had a parade at six pm and a party at the community center afterwards). So, I did something I have NEVER done before. I closed the curtains, made sure there was no light showing on the porches, and didn’t answer the door. I feel like a louse to an extent. Only to an extent. Like I said, I missed most of the little ones.

 

Yesterday, I had a venison roast, potatoes and carrots in the crock pot. I have some venison in the refridge now, but I also have a big pot of venison soup going in the crock pot now. I just put some beef stock, peas, and diced potatoes in with the left over carrots, shredded the meat and tossed that back in, and turned it on when I got up. Smells good already. Of course, since I also have an autumn candle and a Dragon’s Blood punk stick on the house altar, my house smells good anyhow.

 

To anyone affected by Sandy, I hope your life gets back to some sort of normal ASAP. To those who want to help: the Red Cross is always a place to start; if you live closer to the areas affected: they can use recharging stations for cell phones, a hot cup of coffee, tea or chocolate; blankets, food, baby items, fostering for displaced pets.

 

To one and all, this is a time the northern hemisphere is closing down for her winter sleep. It is a time for introspection, and the genesis of new ideas, new projects.

 

HAPPY (CELTIC) NEW YEAR!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sandy, Samhain, and all the Rest

  1. Pingback: Sandy, Samhain, and all the Rest « as the world goes mad

Let me know what YOU think

