Ancestors and Answers

I don’t remember when I first got interested in family history. I know I was fairly young. I was lucky enough to have older members of the family around for a decent part of my growing up. I took notes every chance I got, and it paid off in fifth grade…when I managed to go back 5 generations. Fast forward I won’t say how many years, and it is still something I dig into. It’s put me on speaking terms with second cousins I never got to meet because we grew up on two different sides of the country. It’s showed me a few things about my great-grandfather and his brothers, who fought in WWI. It has also showed me how CAREFUL you need to be when digging through on-line records and such. None of the names in my family tree are all that unusual. Kelleher, for example, is extremely common. And it seems for the most part, the same twelve first names were used for the males, and the same ten or so for females. Which means, you really REALLY need to have your basics straight first. I still have great-aunts alive, I met most of their generation over my lifetime, I had dates and copies of some important records before I started on line. Recently, I have been contacted by someone working for someone who is claiming to be my grandmother’s brother. Ah, sorry, no. My grandmother had three brothers, two of which served in WWII and married. The youngest had spinal bifida, and passed away in 47. I am aware there was one half sister, younger than the rest. I have never heard anyone mention her having a brother. I am trying to explain to these people why I believe they have the wrong information and are trying to hook to the wrong family tree. Meanwhile I need to keep an eye on my tree and make sure if someone hooks to it, they don’t screw up my information.
If you’re going to start digging, double check EVERYTHING.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Family, history and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

