Soup, Suspicion, and Puppy-Sitting

Remember when I posted about that deal I got on the bone-in pork loin? Today, I cooked one of the roasts. I put it in the crockpot with potatoes and a sliced Honeycrisp apple (Man, was that sucker BIG!) Turned it on at 6:30 this morning, and we ate at 5 pm. The meat was off the bone, and you could cut it with a fork. It was AWESOME. It generated a lot of juice in the cooking, too…which gave me the base for Sunday’s dinner: home made soup. The roast could have fed five people (and that was after I cut one of the roasts in the package in half). And I really have a bad habit of using more potatoes than needed. Did I mention the apple was BIG? There were left-overs. I put the potatoes, apple, some of the meat, a can of mixed carrots and peas, some diced shallots and a diced clove of garlic back in the pot. Sunday, I’ll simmer that up and serve it with rolls.

It was fairly busy at the store today. I spent the last hour of my shift bagging, because they had J come in to cover her shift and part of someone else’s, and she can’t really bag in comfort. No problems. Until one lady, all was business as usual. I always talk to my customers. It’s part of my charm. Sometimes, we talk about sports or the weather, or local news (I tend to steer clear of politics and religion). I said something to this one lady about a local incident where some drunken young jerks had vandalized a veg stand where some of our store’s local produce comes from, and how much it sucked because this farm is still trying to get back up from Irene last year…and she started going on about how the governments control the weather! SERIOUSLY!? I’m thinking ‘yeah, right. They are going to throw hurricanes and floods and tsunamis at people, so they have to pay out disaster funds from money they don’t have. They’re going to destroy cities and created nuclear disasters with world-wide effects for the hell of it.’ And she is still going right along about how “They” have controlled the weather for decades now. I wonder what she thinks of the Appollo moon landings? She looked normal enough. Maybe I just caught her in one of those unexplainable mind-glitches?

So, the Maternal Unit is off with her Red Hat crew for a convention this weekend, leaving my four-footed “sister” here with me and the Kidling. Means the Kidling actually has to get away from the computer and television, and WALK. Freckles is a ten year old beagle, and she’s never used a litter box. The funniest part about this is…once you get the Kidling out of the house, she has a good time with it. She’ll race with Freckles for a block or so, compare notes with me on what pictures are in the clouds, and ramble on about what fan fiction she happens to be writing at the time. (I am still not sure about a Transformers/X-Men/GI Joe cross-over, but I am not the creator, so I will leave her to it. At least she is improving her writing skills, and it is showing in her ELA grades).

Tomorrow, we might be off to one of the local pumpkin festivals. If we don’t freeze tonight… temps dropping into the 20s. Time to close the windows.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in cooking, Saving Money and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

