Save! Cha-ching!

Score another one for smart shopping and lots of freezer space. I got eight meals worth of bone-in pork loin for $17.18… that’s $0.99 per pound; three pounds of from-scratch pizza dough for the price of one; two boxes of Keebler cookies for $3.00 (that was a treat. I don’t rarely buy cookies at all.) I ended up saving $20.00 off the total order… which isn’t bad, considering I only had 45 items, and doesn’t really show the savings on the pork…which is about $1.50 per pound… for 18 pounds…like $20 in savings…and I won’t have to buy pork until December. I can live with that! Meanwhile, we have the menu set for the weekend. Dinner with the mother/Grammie tonight (she’s making rice and seafood), beef stew tomorrow night, venison on Sunday. Depending on the weather, maybe homemade chicken soup on Monday. Usually, what I cook depends on what hours I am working. If I have to work until 4:30 or later, I like to toss a meal into the crockpot and let it simmer on low all day. That way, it’s ready to eat when the Kidling and I both get home. With her rehearsal schedule, the crockpot may be working double time between now and mid-November.

What rehearsals? The Kidling has always been involved in drama, and I don’t mean the angsty type (okay, yeah, she plays that one too, but I am talking stage here). When we lived in the UK, she was even able to take one semester of acting class through the school. She loves it. Since I was also big into it back in the Dark Ages of my own school career, I am glad she loves it. Children should have extra curricular activities. It helps them network with friends, gives their self-confidence a boost, and it’s better than rushing through homework to get to video games and computer time. They have never had an archery team in this district, so for me, it was Drama, Chorus and Spanish Club. For the Kidling, it’s Chorus and Drama. (Not only do we still not have an Archery team, we don’t have an Astronomy Club or a Meteorology Club. Yes, my child is half Geek.) Of course, with all the cut-backs these days, it is up to the parents and teachers to keep these programs going. The Booster Club has taken up the slack to pay for at least SOME band and chorus costs (both were slashed from the Middle School). The teachers are giving up their free time in the mornings before school starts to make sure grades 6, 7 and 8 still have band and chorus. I’m fairly sure the three in charge of the elementary/middle school drama group are doing it because they love to, not because they are paid to. I’m not sure they were ever paid to. SUPPORT YOUR CHILDREN! When we keep them interested in drama, music, sports, sciences… they are less likely to get into trouble. I am not talking about pushing them into things… that can backfire spectacularly. But when they want to go for something, re-arrange your own schedule if you must for rehearsals, performances, games and special events. Your child deserves that from you.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

