Good Food for Busy, Rainy Days

Okay, good food for ANY day. Since I had to work until 5pm tonight, I prepped a big pot of chili last night, tossed it into the crockpot this morning, and let it simmer all day long. There’s a secret to a really good chili: the spices. There are two secrets to an AWESOME chili: the spices and the meat. Today’s chili was really good; I use McKormick Mesquite seasoning in addition to everything else. AWESOME chili is when I use venison instead of beef.

I’ve already prepped tomorrow’s supper, too: Golden Harvest Soup, which the Kidling says is more like a chowder, because it’s thick. I’ll include the recipe here, because it really is great on a drab day… or a really cold one.

Golden Harvest Soup

*One can of Chicken broth (You can use veggie broth if you prefer)
*2 cups of hard squash, cubed (I use a combination of Butternut, Acorn, and whatever other hard squash that catches my eye. You could use just one. Don’t try using Zucchini or yellow Summer Squash)
*1 medium carrot (the recipe says finely diced. I use a hand grater)
*1 medium onion, diced (I use two shallots. I prefer the taste)
*honey
*nutmeg
*Flour
*butter
*Heavy cream

In a large pot, bring the broth and the squash to a boil; add carrot and onion and boil; Mash down the squash.

Season with honey and nutmeg to taste. Let simmer.

To thicken, carefully add a mixture of flour and butter

Add one cup heavy cream; simmer until heated through.

A serving suggestion: garnish with a little nutmeg on top and crusty bread on the side. To reheat left-overs, add half a cup of heavy cream and heat.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Food for Busy, Rainy Days

  1. Whimsical KT says:

    YUM! Sounds delicious!

Let me know what YOU think

