Things That Go “BUMP” in the Night

I don’t know what anyone else thinks of ghosts, the Wee Folk, Brownies, Goblins and the like…Me, I have seen/heard/been through too much to dismiss them just because current levels of science say they don’t exist. FORTUNATELY, most of my experiences haven’t been the terrorizing sort… Sometimes, it’s been protective, sometimes comforting…and occasionally as annoying as hell.

My daughter has two stuffed Pooh Bears. One I bought before she was born, and had it waiting here when we first brought her home. The other was a Yule gift her first holiday season from one of her aunties. She calls them Girl Pooh and Boy Pooh, and even now, they have to be present at bed time. When the Kidling was about 3, we went through a patch of Vanishing Pooh Bears. One or both would go missing right before bedtime, and the poor kid would FREAK. The energies my mother and I felt in the house led us to one conclusion: My maternal grandmother was playing games. They weren’t funny to anyone else, but apparently she was amused. It didn’t stop until my husband threatened to banish her completely from the property.

Forward ten years. I now have an already moody teenage on my hands. School has JUST started up for the year. Friday last, she lost her pencil case with a brand new calculator inside. Monday, she lost her personal story notebook. Tuesday, it was her gym bag. Tuesday night, it was also her independent reading book, which I KNEW she’d brought home. We looked all over the house. I even went out to look in the car. That’s when I realized it felt like the Pooh Bear Pranks all over again. I stood in the back yard and reamed my grandmother out, then enlisted the aid of my father, maternal grandfather and paternal grandmother in getting it sorted. (All of my grandparents died before my daughter was born. My dad died when she was 3) Walked back in the house… and the Kidling found the book. She got to school today, and found the case and the gym bag.

Coincidence? Maybe. Not being the first time I’ve had things go missing from in plain sight in one spot, only to turn up a lot later in plain sight somewhere else, I tend to doubt it. “There is more in heaven and earth, Horatio, than mortal mind may comprehend.”

More after the weekend. There’s a Fallfest to attend, and hopefully I will have my phone fixed by then!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Pagan, paranormal, Raising a Girl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

